Devotional 12/20/2016

The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’There is no commandment greater than these.” Mark 12:31

TV, movies, and music has “romanticized” love so much, that it has implanted an unrealistic expectation for humanity worldwide. 

 There are three types of love:

1) Eros love – known as “erotic love”.

This love is based on the physical. It carries an underlying agenda: self-benefit (what can benefit me). This type love is based on feelings and attraction, which cannot be true love because they do not know each other. It is necessary for two people to know and accept each others’ good and bad characteristics and habits to see if they really do like each other. And for their love to be tested, to test the truth of their love. 

2) Philos love – a love based on friendship between two people.

It has been studied that two lovers that start out by being friends first are usually the relationships that last long-term. Friendship is the foundation of any successful relationship. The advantage of being friends first is that you get to know each other, before entering a romantic relationship. 

Friendship: admiration, emotional connection and mutual consideration. 

Philos love is a mutual, “give-and take” relationship, while eros love is a self-concern. 

3) The highest type of love is “agape”, or unconditional love.

Agape love is a higher love than philos and eros love. This love is  selfless, where a person gives out love to another person even if the love given is returned or not. 

Agape love is not exactly human, it is divine – God’s love for us is unconditional.

God’s love gave His one and only Son, Jesus Christ to death on the cross for our salvation. To reconcile us back to God.

Jesus had no obligation to die for us, but He chose to. He chose to die for us because He knew what would happen if He didn’t. We would be damned to eternal damnation, and separation from God. 

First Corinthians 13:4-8 

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil, but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”

  • Eros love is “physical”
  • Philos love is “mental”
  • Agape love is “spiritual”

We need all three, because remember we are a tripart being:  physical, mental and spiritual.

Let’s pray: 

Lord Jesus, I thank you for your love and attention because without it we would have no standards by which to measure love. I pray for a refreshing of your spirit, to link us up with those who are matured to give and receive these types of love. May weboutselves become mature as well, to provide this love for all of our friends in family. In Jesus name, Amen. 


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s